powershell read file line by line into array

Site design / logo 2023 Stack Exchange Inc; user contributions licensed under CC BY-SA. That ease of use that the CmdLets provide can come at a small cost in raw performance. Primarily, the problem is that the -split operation is applied to the input file path, not to the file's content. as the delimiter. Sped the code up from 4.5 hours to a little over 100 seconds! PowerShell script to read line by line large CSV files Ask Question Asked 6 years, 5 months ago Modified 6 years, 5 months ago Viewed 10k times 3 I am managing large CSV files (files ranging from 750 Mb to 10+ Gb), parsing their data into PSObjects, then processing each of those objects based on what is required. You can always get the very last line of the file like this: This is similar to the tail command in Linux. I've only used PS for about a month so I'm still learning. By default, Get-Content reads all the line in a text file and creates an array as its output with each line of the text as an element in that array. Enter a path element or pattern, such as *.txt. The actual creation of the reports is of acceptable speed and certainly a lesser concern at the moment for me. We have already configured WSUS Server with Group Policy, But we need to push updates to clients without using group policy. When referencing a file using the Stream parameter, Get-Item returns a property called Stream as shown below. The AsByteStream parameter was }, v1,v2,v3,v4 Theres an important difference between a text file and an array. You may have noticed in previous examples that youve been dealing with string arrays as the PowerShell Get-Content output. You can use the TotalCount parameter name or its aliases, First or Head. To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers. Get-Content parameter. Second is: two Edit: there's no space after 3rd column. However, the cmdlet will load the entire file contents to memory at once, which will fail or freeze on large files. Array